Thai Tea

I am very happy to be back, and this is most easily seen with my obsession with Thai tea, or cha yen. It’s red tea with condensed milk. I love it so very much, and it is only ฿15 or roughly 50 cents.

Image

(Image via faafood.net)

I rarely get it in a bag with a straw (cups are actually the norm, but some small stands will do bags), but no matter how it is served – glass, ceramic cup, plastic bag, golden chalice – it is fabulous!

I also had grilled chili beef salad, which is freaking fantastic. It’s thinly sliced beef with lemongrass, shallots, garlic, cabbage, cucumber, paprika, mint, celery leaves, and covered with a chili sauce.

Image

(Image from findnewrecipes.blogspot.com)

It is super, super spicy and amazingly good! If you want to try making it (and who wouldn’t?!) I found what looks like a good recipe online, though I’m not sure if it is exactly the same as the one my cook uses.

http://findnewfoodrecipes.blogspot.com/2013/01/thai-grilled-spicy-beef-salad-recipe.html

Some people view culture through ritual, religion, language, family structure, types of government, clothing, etc. I view it through food. I am SO very glad to be back in Thailand with such fabulous Thai food!

Leave a Reply

