Screw Veggies

So, like a good girl, back from the temptations of unhealthy US vacation food, I’m trying to lose some of the weight I put on while traveling. Some of it came off easily, just with picking up the daily walking and stuff I do without any effort. But, as is always the case, it’s much easier to gain weight than to lose it (which is fucking bullshit, biology, thanks).

Knowing this, I — finally — this week broke down and set a “no pointless carbs” rule, buying a bunch of easy-to-eat vegetables (long green beans and carrots and cucumbers). Now, this was a common thing for me while working jobs that involved no physical effort. I would take a bag of fresh green beans and grapes and snack on those. I love fresh green beans. Yum! So this isn’t the most difficult thing in the world for me.

This time? This time I got food poisoning. Hours of vomiting. I’ll have a couple of days before the popped capillaries in my face from all the straining fade. Couldn’t go into work so I lose vacation/sick days.

So. Fuck vegetables, is where I’m going with this. I’m almost entirely sure it was the carrots that got me, but no way to know that for sure. Thus, I say nay to all things veggie. Excepting garlic. And shallots. And herbs, I need herbs for things. And maybe they’re are a few other exceptions, too. Like tomatoes are very useful. As are chilies. I have to have my chilies!

But not for snacks. I’ve not gotten food poisoning from a bag of microwave popcorn.

(My cat, I must note, has been wonderful through this time of hardship. Very cuddly and sweet. Not put off by all those awful noises her mama is making in the bathroom. I appreciate her sweetness!)

4 thoughts on “Screw Veggies

      1. And you are so lucky to have such a great cat 🙂 If you ever want to read some funny and inspirational stories about my life, you are more than welcome to come by my blog and have a Cup of Joe.

Leave a Reply

