Thai-Mexican Fusion Food: Mole

Now, a mole is a very complicated Mexican dish, usually consisting of a TON of ingredients (20 and up), many of which are not exactly easy to get a hold of here in Thailand, where Mexican food isn’t exactly what I would call “popular”. The good thing is that mole’s are very, very flexible.

Point is, I was craving the stuff, and I thought, “Why not try it? Substitutions are possible…”

I’m also limited by the lack of a real kitchen. I have a fridge, a small (small) area for prep, a rice cooker, and a microwave. (I also happen to lack a blender of any kind, and have for some odd reason never invested in a mortar and pestal, sorta necessary for a sauce like this.) Because of this I love (and excel at) one-pot cooking. What follows is my:

Darcil’s One-Pot Chicken Mole

(Everything, and I mean EVERYTHING is “to taste” … I also don’t own a measuring cup. I’m a “just throw shit in” kinda cook. Worked so far.)

1. Chop chilies (I used jalapenos, and a bunch of tiny Thai chilies) and let them soak in water (30ish minutes)
2. Heat bowl and use oil or butter. Throw in onions, garlic, peanut (butter), raisins, cumin, thyme, cinnamon, and cloves. Cook until onions are soft.
3. Add chilies, broth (chicken or veggie), thickener (tortillas, bread, flour, etc, but most sites suggest toasting your tortillas or bread, so f***it, I used tortilla chips).
4. Add tomato (I used salsa for the Mexican flavor peppers, since chilies are so important for this, and I can’t get most Mexican chilies here. But diced tomatoes would work, fresh or canned). Add tomatillo (can’t get this either; used bellpepper and lime juice)
5. Optional: add chocolate, sugar, salt to taste. (I did not use sugar or salt, what with the peanut butter and corn chips. I did add a little bit of chocolate, but not much.)
6. Stir until thickened and reduced.

7. Puree if you can (I couldn’t). I think you could do this before you put your ingredients in or after. No big. (Mine is more of a thick stew since I couldn’t puree)

8. Pour over or add your meat of choice. I used roasted chicken.
9. Eat.

Doesn't look like much, but it's freaking awesome.
Doesn’t look like much, but it’s freaking awesome.

EDIT: I want to add that I have one of those fancy rice cookers with a non-removeable lid, four or five settings (cook, quick cook, mix rice, timer for slow cooking, congee for porridge and stews and soups). This thing makes tons of stuff. I’ve baked cakes in this thing. I’ve made cornbread, I cook tacos and dal, every stew and soup under the sun (though all of my soups end up stew-y since I lack the blending), I’ve stirfried veggies and steamed veggies (I could, I suppose boil veggies, but ew), I cook pasta (and then put sauce on top and nuke the both together, though I could easily heat the sauce and then pour the cooked noodles on top of the sauce and mix), I’ve “grilled” haloumi cheese, I’ve crisped cheddar to make fake cheezits, I make scrambled eggs pretty often, I’ve “fried” sausage! This thing is a wonder machine of one-pot cooking.

It also makes damn fine rice. 

One thought on “Thai-Mexican Fusion Food: Mole

Leave a Reply

