2013 – The post 99.9% of bloggers are writing

It’s cliche as hell, but  it is 30 minutes until 2014 in my part of Southeast Asia (Singapore is an hour ahead). My thoughts on the year are as such:

Not the worst year of my life, but certainly one of the most stressful, especially considering that I’m happy. Happily stressed! Howl getting sick! Howl getting sick againAttempted breakins! Moving! Jail releases! Seizures! (Not that THAT one is any sort of surprise.) A disastrous (but not terrible) not-trip-to-Vietnam! 

But there were also good things. Yes 2013 was the year Howlite was diagnosed with CRF. But it was also the year that I learned she didn’t actually have it. The year I thought was one of her last with me, and the year I was happy to discover was just one of our firsts together.

The cone won't be staying around, though.
The cone won’t be staying around, though.

It was also the year I got Anisa … who is super talkative and has bad breath! But I love her anyhow. And she makes me and Howlite a bit more energetic (it takes energy to ignore her).

Like many still images, the beautiful, graceful feeling is a lie.
Like many still images, the beautiful, graceful feeling is a lie.

I visited my family and was able to see several of my (American) friends in person after so long. I met new people, made new friends. I read a lot of stuff I enjoyed – new novels and new articles and new comics, and re-read old, much loved novels and articles and comics – watched a lot of cool movies, hung with a lot of cool people. My friends here continued to be awesome and supportive (and lots of fun, as always).

I ate lots of great food, too. That is extremely important.

cha manao
Bagged cha manao. I love lime tea, for real.

 

Spicy pork salad. Yum. So yum. Also good in beef.
Spicy pork salad. Yum. So yum. Also good in beef.

I bought and used some really sweet pens, too. Officially entering into the world of pen collecting, with real, honest-to-goodness vintage pens.

Almost 20 years older than me!
Almost 20 years older than me!

Of course I hope that 2014 is better (NO serious vet visits would be nice, please and thank you), but this wasn’t all that awful a year.

Goodbye 2013. Hello 2014. Nice to meet you. I hope we get along.

Like this. But better. Because I'd rather 2014 was washing me for ME and not as a manipulative way to steal the seat... which is what Ani is doing in this picture.
Like this. But better. Because I’d rather 2014 was washing me for ME and not as a manipulative way to steal the seat… which is what Ani is doing in this picture.
Leave a Reply

