Ant-Man

Word’s come down that Edgar Wright has left the Ant-Man film project.

This is not cool.

Now, don’t get me wrong. I’m no Ant-Man fan. I find him to be a bit of an ass. But then, I felt the same way about Iron Man, and look what John Favreau and RDJ did for that. I am an Edgar Wright fan, from Spaced to The World’s End. This hurts. I was looking forward to Ant-Man because it was obviously a Wright passion project. Eight years he spent on it, wrote the script, development, we all had high hopes, I think. Which might have contributed to the problem. Maybe he got too much in his own head? I don’t know, but the fact is that he’s out.

(Check this piece on Movies.com that gives basic updates from October 2013 to the present, and possibly better ones at Comic Book Movie and Latino Review — basically the same information — for a bit deeper look.)

I’d like to restate, before I rant here, that I know shit about movies except enjoying them, and same with comics. I read and watch for fun, not for the obsessive need to know EVERYTHING. So, undoubtedly, I’m misunderstanding something here. I, in no way, am meaning to insult anyone here by writing something wrong about scheduling or planning for these films. Feel free to correct me, if I am.

My understanding, and I probably don’t keep up with this as well as I should, but my understanding is that Ant-Man, all of the movies of the character Ant-Man, was supposed to take Iron Man’s place in the Marvel Cinematic Universe’s release schedule. Basically, Iron Man to get us started and prove it’s doable, then:

Iron Man 2, Thor, Captain America, Avengers,

Iron Man 3, Thor 2, Captain America 2, Guardians of the Galaxy, Avengers 2

Ant Man, Thor 3, Captain America 3, potentially a GG2, Dr. Strange, maybe a Black Panther, Avengers 3

Then we would expect an Ant-Man 2, but only if it’s done well. And while Thor, Captain America, Avengers and (likely) Guardians of the Galaxy are SAFE because they came before Ant-Man, if it tanks, it threatens every Marvel property that comes after. Though I personally enjoyed Iron Man 3, legions of folks didn’t, and it led to a lot of mouthiness around Thor: The Dark World that was only really silenced after Captain America: Winter Soldier wooed a few touchy folks back into the bosom of MCU.

Not that any real money was at risk, they all raked in cash like sand on a beach, but put too many bad eggs out, and everything gets just a little bit tougher. And with as much money as they’re spending on these movies, they can’t afford not to be blockbusters.

Last minute director change, especially after this much time, is troubling. Worse even than if they were to pull a new Hank, in my own opinion. (Though, um, I wouldn’t mind a new Hank.)

Whelp. I’m off to go re-watch (all of) Spaced, Hot Fuzz, and The World’s End. Hope this doesn’t blow up in your faces, Marvel!

Leave a Reply

