Little Known Facts: Six Months Seizure Free

So, as of today, I am completely six months without a seizure. Without any episode. There were days I didn’t feel 100%. That I certainly felt a need for caution. But I was careful, and nothing happened.

I’ve been epileptic since I was 15. I have never gone 6 straight months without a seizure before.

I thought about going out to celebrate or something, but it’s rainy season here in my wonderful Thailand, and my little corner is living up to its name with the rain and the wind, so I’m instead staying at home, eating chips and salsa (that’s right), and watching baseball documentaries on Netflix.

Ken Burns did a documentery called Baseball (Ken Burns wasn’t exactly poetic in his naming of things…oh! Did I mention that part of his documentary on the dust bowl was used in Intersteller? Cuz it was…moving on) that is 11 episodes, each episode being 2 hours long. That’s right, 22 hours of baseball. And I’ve already seen it.

Twice.

That’s a celebration.

(If you’re wondering how I can sit through 22 hours of Ken Burns-style Baseball history, which many people might find dull, for a third time, which most people might find futile to the point of futile and pointless to the point of certifiable insanity, let me tell you this: I am a Mariners fan. I’m sure it all makes sense to you, now.)

Old, yet still accurate.
Old, yet still accurate.

And might illustrate why I appreciate a thing like 6 free months so much! My own personal world series! Huzzah for me!

5 thoughts on “Little Known Facts: Six Months Seizure Free

  1. Hey I have nocturnal epilepsy and I also take Lamictal as you do. Please tell me, is it easy to get over there? If so, is it over the counter and what is the cost?
    Thanks
    -PF

    1. It isn’t over the counter. It’s no easier or harder than in America or (I assume) other countries. You go to the doctor, get an RX, and then get it filled at the hospital pharmacy.
      I have insurance that covers the pay, and I’m not sure if cost varies per hospital or per the size of the pills you take, but the initial bill (before the insurance picks up the tab and covers it) is roughly 9000 baht for two months of pills, which is about 300$. I take 150 ml twice a day.
      It’s 9000 and something for the lamictal… I don’t really pay attention since it’s covered, and they’re all 50 ml tablets. I know another hospital, which my insurance doesn’t cover, has 100 ml tabs, I don’t know what the cost difference would be if I bought an equal ml amount in the different size pills, or if that hospital, which is private vs my hospital, which is government, charges more for their medication (which they might).

Leave a Reply

