Bangkok Bombing – August 17 2015

I feel like I should write about this, but at the same time, I hesitate to until more information comes out. I am, as those who read for more than just the movie reviews might be aware, not living in Bangkok, but rather in the southern region of Thailand, on the island of Phuket.

However, I do very much enjoy Bangkok. I have friends in Bangkok. My closest friends here have family there. Those friends are currently IN Bangkok on business (they and their family are safe). The place that was bombed is near a popular shopping area; in fact, it is one I like, too. I’ve bought fountain pen ink near there several times. I went by last year and watched some of the protests from the skywalk.

I don’t know who did this or their motivation behind it, but I know the area. I know that, at that time of night, there are usually a lot of street vendors. People on the news, they’re quoting others talking about how it was intended to hit foreigners and hurt tourism. It will no doubt hurt tourism, but that was going to hit Thai people. Did tourists frequent that area? Sure. But it wasn’t like a tourist-only site. It was a place of reverence for Thais, an area of commute and retail for Thais.

I don’t know. Whatever it is, it’s sad. And awful. So to the families and friends and various other loved ones of the 22+ dead and the 125+ injured (I’m sure the numbers will have changed from where they are at this second), I offer my sorrows for your own.

Yeah. That’s what I’ve got right now.

Leave a Reply

