Green Lantern and Shakespeare

So I was recently going through Shakespeare’s sonnets, specifically 147.

My love is as a fever longing still,
For that which longer nurseth the disease;
Feeding on that which doth preserve the ill,
The uncertain sickly appetite to please.
My reason, the physician to my love,
Angry that his prescriptions are not kept,
Hath left me, and I desperate now approve
Desire is death, which physic did except.
Past cure I am, now Reason is past care,
And frantic-mad with evermore unrest;
My thoughts and my discourse as madmen’s are,
At random from the truth vainly expressed;
For I have sworn thee fair, and thought thee bright,
Who art as black as hell, as dark as night.

Anyone who knows the Green Lantern oath can probably see where I’m going with the very last two lines here:

In brightest day, in blackest night,
No evil shall escape my sight.
Let those who worship evil’s might
Beware my power–Green Lantern’s light!

Okay. Obviously they have nothing to do with one another. Shakespeare’s sonnet is about love, despite sickness and evil. The Green Lantern oath is about fighting evil… with the power of jewelry of a specific color.

Green-Lantern-v2-63_00
Drama!

By stretching a lot one might connect them, but it would be some Reed Richards / / Ralph Dibny level stretching.

Well. Let me Mr. Fantastically Elongated Woman this shit up.

We all know the most powerful rings are the rings of the heart.

heart
Disagree? You’re wrong.

Heart is emotions, love is an emotion, so rings are lovely type things. Sure, this would equal the Star Sapphires better, you might argue.

Star_Sapphire_Corps
…ugh

But I would argue against that, being that…

…uh… because I said so?

I lost this really fast. It’s totally more Star Sapphire. I’m guessing this means I’m not a stretchy superhero?!

Darth NOOOOO
NOOOOOO! Limited motion!!!! CURSES!!

Star Sapphire oath isn’t too far away:

For hearts long lost and full of fright,
For those alone in blackest night,
Accept our ring and join our fight,
Love conquers all–
With violet light!

They also have the (limited) power to heal!

Yeah! Star Sapphires were totally based on Shakespeare Sonnet 147! Probably!

Go me!

Green_Lantern_Vol_4_18
…ugh.

 

Leave a Reply

